Tegami Bachi/Letter Bee Review

886754081_1380046261

“I put a nasty letter in the envelope for you!”

This anime is one of those few I can safely say is very good. The whole story takes place on an alternate earth where the sun has gone out, and an artificial sun sits in the capitol, giving light to the world. Letter Bees are basically post officers, delivering letters, but they also have to fend off giant metal bugs called Gaichuu which will eat your heart (in this case, memories is a better word) and make you lifeless.

When the main character Lag Seeing is young, he is delivered to his aunt by a Letter Bee named Gauche Suede. Through the journey, the two become good friends, and Gauche tells his sister Sylvette all about the “Letter Boy” he delivered. This causes Lag to wish to become a Letter Bee when he gets older, and he does, but finds out his idol has lost his heart. So he sets out with his new friends to find out what happens.

The end is a great big battle that I really enjoyed. I was sobbing at the last episode, and it wasn’t even sad. Stupid Lag is a crybaby, so naturally, I always cry when he does which is at least once a damn episode. I didn’t want this series to end.

Obviously, this anime gets the full 10 out of 10 because there is nothing in this that is bad. I found myself spamming at least 10 episodes a night. I love this one so hard and I hope you all decide to check it out, too, because it is 300% worth it.

Picture Source: weareawesomeness.wordpress.com/2012/08/22/the-awesome-new-manga-post-letter-bee/
For notes on my rating system, please see https://anrisaryn.wordpress.com/2013/11/26/my-rating-system/

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tonya R. Moore
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 01:12:13

    When I first started watching Tegami Batchi, my expectations were pretty low. I really didn’t expect such a complex and arresting plot–heartbreaking even. It’s a beautiful story… one I go back and rewatch every now and then. I definitely agree with you 10 out of 10 rating.

    Reply

  2. R. Rowell
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 10:13:56

    More people should know about this anime.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: “gdgd fairies” Review | Anrisa's Anime

Leave a Reply

